House Panel to Hold Feb. 2 NTIA Hearling

January 26, 2017–The House communications and technology subcommittee plans to hold a Feb. 2 hearing on reauthorization of the National Telecommunications and Information Administration. The hearing is scheduled to start at 10:45 a.m. in room 2322 of the Rayburn House Office Building.  “Given NTIA’s critical role in communications policy and the fact it hasn’t been reauthorized since 1992, it’s past time for us to take a thorough, comprehensive look at the NTIA,” said subcommittee Chairman Marsha Blackburn (R., Tenn.). “I’m looking forward to discussing NTIA’s work on spectrum allocation, ICANN activities, and what steps we can take to ensure America remains competitive in today’s digital environment.”

The Telecommunications Industry Association has named the following officers for its 2017 board of directors:  as chair, David Heard, who is TIA’s interim chief executive officer;  as first vice chair, Mike Marcellin of Juniper Networks; as second vice chair, Glen Laxdall of Ericsson; as chairman emeritus, Mark Walker of Walker and Associates; as secretary, Betty Manetta of Asociar LLC; and as treasurer, Jennifer Pentecost Sims of Power & Telephone Supply Co.  New and reappointed members of the TIA board also include Chris Drake of iconectiv; Amy Marasco of Microsoft Corp.; Dennis Martinez of Harris Corp.; Doug Moore of Fujitsu Network Communications, Inc.; Victoria Obenshain of Panasonic Corp. of North America;  Kanchana Raman of Avion Networks, Inc.; Kevin Shatzkamer of Dell EMC; and Samech Yamany of Viavi Solutions.

Courtesy TRDaily