Pai Announces Appointments to Tribal Task Force

FCC Chairman Ajit Pai today announced the appointment of 19 tribal members and eight FCC representatives to the agency’s renewed Native Nations Communications Task Force.  Mr. Pai named Matthew Duchesne, chief of the FCC’s Office of Native Affairs and Policy, as co-chair of the task force. Tribal members will elect a tribal co-chair. “The Commission is excited to announce the members of the Native Nations Communications Task Force,” said Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau Chief Patrick Webre. “The Task Force will continue the work of helping the Commission design and implement policies to close the digital divide.

Too often, Tribal Nations are on the wrong side of that divide, and we look forward to receiving the Task Force’s ideas for fostering more and better communications infrastructure and services on Tribal lands. The Task Force will be an important element of our commitment to work with Tribes on a government-to-government basis to address issues of mutual interest.”

Courtesy TRDaily