IWCE Presents Lifetime Achievement Award to Harlin McEwen, Honorary President, International Association of Chiefs of Police FirstNet Public Safety Advisory Committee

Kevin McGinnis, FirstNet, Presents Award to Harlin McEwen

Chief McEwen served on the Steering Committee of the Public Safety Wireless Advisory Committee (PSWAC) and as a member of the Steering Committee of the FCC Public Safety National Coordinating Committee (NCC). In November 2000, the International Association of Chiefs of Police, at their Annual Conference in San Diego honored Chief McEwen by presenting him with the first IACP Lone Star Distinguished Award in recognition of his exemplary service to the IACP for over 22 years as Chairman of the IACP Communications & Technology Committee. He is a Life Member and Honorary President of the International Association of Chiefs of Police. He is also a Life Member of the New York State Association of Chiefs of Police, the Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials-International (APCO), and the National Sheriffs’ Association.

He is a Fellow in the Radio Club of America (RCA) and in 2006 was honored by being named the first recipient of the RCA/NPSTC Richard DeMello Award for his many contributions to public safety communications. In 2007, Chief McEwen was elected Chairman of the Public Safety Spectrum Trust (PSST), a not-for-profit corporation consisting of representatives of fifteen national public safety organizations who began the effort to obtain the 700 MHz Public Safety Broadband License (PSBL) for public safety which is now held by FirstNet. Chief McEwen is currently the Chairman of the Public Safety Advisory Committee of FirstNet.

NIST Releases Cybersecurity Framework Update

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has updated the original NIST Cybersecurity Framework, first released in 2014. The draft update was released on January 10 and contains many of the anticipated revisions as well as:

  • Significant updates to the cyber supply chain risk management
  • Defined cybersecurity terminology
  • Identity Management and Access Control updates (including “identity proofing”)
  • A new section on cybersecurity measurement

Comments on the proposed updates are due by April 10, 2017.


House Committees Pledge Cooperation on DHS Reauthorization Legislation

January 12, 2017–The chairs of eight House committees with jurisdiction over the Department of Homeland Security have signed a memorandum stating that they will cooperate on legislation to reauthorize DHS.

The agreement among the committee chairs was announced today by Rep. Michael McCaul (R., Texas), chairman of the House Homeland Security Committee. Rep. McCaul said last week (TRDaily, Jan. 5) that he had reached a memorandum of understanding with other committee chairs to help speed reauthorization legislation, and that he was “very optimistic that we will see that legislation . . . one of the first coming out of my committee.”

Central to Rep. McCaul’s push for DHS reauthorization is his oft-stated goal of transforming the agency’s National Protection and Programs Directorate (NPPD) into an operational unit devoted to the protection of critical infrastructure, to be called the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Protection Agency within DHS. DHS Secretary has Jeh Johnson has voiced support for such a move. Continue reading

FCC Daily Digest, December 28, 2016

Released:  12/28/2016.  PUBLIC SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY BUREAU RELEASES ITS INITIAL FINDINGS REGARDING THE 2016 NATIONWIDE EAS TEST. (DA No.  16-1452). (Dkt No 15-94 )  This Public Notice provides an initial overview of the nationwide EAS test results and highlights several opportunities for strengthening the EAS.

NIST Seeking Vendors for Authentication Project

December 19, 2016–The National Institute of Standards and Technology and its National Cybersecurity Center of Excellence (NCCoE) said today they released a “Federal Register” notice for their Multifactor Authentication for e-Commerce project, and are inviting technology vendors to participate in the project build.  “This project aims to help retailers implement stronger authentication mechanisms to ensure the user is authorized to use the card for e-commerce, card-not-present transactions, using standards-based commercially available and/or open source products,” NIST said.

Courtesy TRDaily


Johnson Commits DHS to Implementing IP Enforcement Strategic Plan

December 13, 2016–Homeland Security Secretary Jeh Johnson said today that “DHS is pleased to implement the action items listed” in the U.S. Joint Strategic Plan on Intellectual Property Enforcement for fiscal years 2017 to 2019 released yesterday (TRDaily, Dec. 12).  Among the DHS action items in the strategic plan are promoting and expanding U.S. law enforcement partnerships with e-commerce platforms “to keep these legitimate platforms from unwittingly facilitating intellectual property theft,” he said.

Courtesy TRDaily